The East African Development Bank (EADB) was established in 1967 under the treaty of the then East African Cooperation. Following the breakup of the community in 1977, the Bank was re-established under its own charter in 1980.

Under this charter, the Bank's role and mandate were reviewed and its operational scope expanded. Under its expanded operational scope, the Bank offers a broad range of financial services in the Member States of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda with an overriding objective of strengthening socio-economic development and regional integration.

EADB is owned by the four member states of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda. Other shareholders include the African Development Bank (AfDB), the Netherlands Development Finance Company (FMO), German Investment and Development Company (DEG), SBIC-Africa Holdings, Commercial Bank of Africa, Nairobi, Nordea Bank of Sweden, Standard Chartered Bank, London and Barclays Bank Plc., London.

The revitalization of the regional cooperation among the Member States through the establishment of the new East African Community (EAC) has accorded the Bank the opportunity of playing a catalyzing role in regional integration through provision of development finance. The ensuing prospects conform to the Bank's envisaged stable outlook.

View east african development bank Tenders

Some of Our Valuable Clients